Meet the Governors


We currently have a vacancy for a co-opted Governor.

A co-opt Governor is an individual from the community who has the skills and experience which the governing board require. If you are interested in this role, or would like to find out more, please contact the Chair of Governor, Esther Ward at [email protected]

Meet the Governors

There are 11 members of the governing body at Carr Head, all of whom give their time freely for the good of the school and the children. The full governing body meets once each term and the smaller committees feedback to the full governing body. The role of the governing body is to provide support and challenge for the headteacher and to hold the headteacher to account. The focus of the main committees are standards, resources/ finance and health and safety/buildings. Individual governors may be tasked with monitoring specific curriculum areas and the impact on learning within these areas.

Chair of Governors: Mrs. Esther Ward
Deputy Chair of Governors:  Mrs. Karen Brammall

All governors are appointed for a term of office of 4 years.

All governors are appointed by the governing body unless they are elected
by a parental ballot which happens when there are more candidates than vacancies.

Full list of Governors

NameTypeRenewal Date Appointment Date
Mr Ian HackingLocal Authority14/03/202606/04/2014
Mrs Angeli Slack Head 31/12/202501/12/2014
Mrs Esther WardCo-opted 14/03/202615/03/2022
Mr Peter Cain Co-opted 20/06/2026 27/01/2015
Mrs Patricia Harwood Co-opted 26/01/2027 27/01/2015
Mrs Karen BrammallParent13/02/202414/02/2020
Mrs Helen BelbinCo-opted07/12/202508/12/2021
Mrs Leyla CookeParent16/01/202617/01/2022
Mrs Sharon NicholsonStaff20/02/202621/02/2022
Mr Michael ShepherdCo-opted14/03/202715/03/2023


Historic (left within the past 12 months): Position ended: Appointment Date
Mr Robert Osinski 07/11/202008/11/2016
Mr Malcolm Rayner23/07/202117/03/2015
Mrs Helen Thornley08/12/202129/03/2019
Mr Ryan Gumley28/09/202129/09/2017
Mrs Laura Garside06/11/202127/01/2016
Mrs Aly Spencer26/01/202221/06/2018
Mr Peter Drew07/12/202212/06/2020
Mr Nick Pawson07/11/202208/11/2016

Full List of Governor Committees – Click here


Nominated Governors

Resources – Mrs Esther Ward

Curriculum – Mrs Helen Belbin

Independent Scrutineer – Mrs Helen Thornley

Link Governor – Mr Ian Hacking

Safeguarding/Child Protection – Mrs Leyla Cooke

Pupil Premium – Mrs Helen Belbin

Parental Engagement – Mrs Karen Brammall



Attendance figures:

Name Full GB meeting Resources Standards
Mr Ian Hacking 2/2 2/2-
Mrs Angeli Slack 2/2 2/22/2
Mrs Esther Ward 1/22/2 -
Mr Peter Cain 1/21/2 -
Mrs Patricia Harwood 2/2-2/2
Mrs Karen Brammall1/2--
Mrs Helen Belbin2/2-1/2
Mrs Leyla Cooke2/2-1/2
Mrs Sharon Nicholson2/22/22/2


List of Relevant Business, Pecuniary or Relationship Interests:

Mr P Cain: Governor at Baines School Poulton-Le Fylde

Mrs K Brammall: Spouse is school crossing patrol

There are no other business, financial or material interests.

Latest Events

Click here

Free Mobile App

Click below to download our FREE School App!